Parliament Votes NO on Voluntary Euthanasia And The Speaker Blames One Person

Guess who it is?

Parliament Votes NO on Voluntary Euthanasia And The Speaker Blames One Person

Overnight the voluntary euthanasia bill was quashed by the Speaker the Hon Michael Atkinson – it was a tie at 23-23 and he made the deciding vote – a no. 

But why?

“I was very much oppose to deliberating on this bill in the middle of the night – that’s why I moved to postpone it until this morning,”

“The Premier and the Leader of the Opposition were determined to have this bill done and dusted, that’s why it went to a vote.” 

“I think it was terrible it was forced through in early hours of the morning.” 

“Andrew Denton has played a very large role in this bill being defeated.”

“It would be best if Mr Denton went back to the Eastern states.”

Fighting words from our Speaker Michael Atkinson.

Listen to the full interview with Andrew Denton here:

However Andrew Denton was actually here in SA to try and encourage this bill to be passed in its fifteenth attempt through the SA courts.

So how did your MP vote?



Member for Cheltenham and Premier, Jay Weatherill

Member for Florey, Frances Bedford

Member for Mawson, Leon Bignell

Member for Frome, Geoff Brock

Member for Colton, Paul Caica

Member for Port Adelaide, Susan Close

Member for Fisher, Nat Cook

Member for Elder, Annabel Digance

Member for Napier, Jon Gee

Member for Reynell, Katrine Hildyard

Member for Giles, Eddie Hughes

Member for Ashford, Steph Key

Member for Lee, Stephen Mullighan

Member for Little Para, Lee Odenwalder

Member for Kaurna, Chris Picton

Member for Torrens, Dana Wortley


Member for Norwood and Opposition Leader, Steven Marshall

Member for Bragg, Vickie Chapman

Member for Morphett, Duncan McFetridge

Member for Unley, David Pisoni

Member for Mitchell, Corey Wingard

Member for Adelaide, Rachel Sanderson

Member for Heysen, Isobel Redmond



Member for Ramsay, Zoe Bettison

Member for Newland, Tom Kenyon

Member for West Torrens, Tom Koutsantonis

Member for Light, Tony Piccolo

Member for Playford, Jack Snelling

Member for Wright, Jennifer Rankine

Member for Enfield, John Rau

Member for Taylor, Leesa Vlahos

Independent Liberal

Member for Waite, Martin Hamilton-Smith


Member for Mount Gambier, Troy Bell

Member for Davenport, Sam Duluk

Member for Morialta, John Gardner

Member for Kavel, Mark Goldsworthy

Member for Goyder, Steven Griffiths

Member for Schubert, Stephan Knoll

Member for Hammond, Adrian Pederick

Member for Finniss, Michael Pengilly

Member for Bright, David Speirs

Member for Hartley, Vincent Tarzia

Member for Flinders, Peter Treloar

Member for Chaffey, Tim Whetstone

Member for MacKillop, Mitch Williams

Member for Stuart, Dan van Holst Pellekaan


Member for Croydon and Speaker, Michael Atkinson (ALP)